May Museum

Report this page

May Museum

The May Museum and Park is dedicated to preserving and interpreting Farmville area history. Tabitha DeVisconti bequethed the 19th century house to the Town of Farmville in 1983. Following renovations, the Town opened the facility in 1991 as The May Museum and Park.

Advertisements


The home was built in 1854 by James Williams May (left) and Tabitha Bynum May. James Williams' grandfather, Major Benjamin May, settled the area south of Black Swamp in the colonial period and was known to have "promoted and motivated his community in an exemplary manner."

The museum is home of one of the finest one family quilt collections in North Carolina. The quilts date from 1830 to 1930, several signed by their makers. Many were presentation quilts and not the typical Southern patchwork for home use.

The quilts are in the process of being cleaned and restored. Although all of the quilts can be seen by visitors, display of the quilts is on a rotational basis. The quilts date from the 1830's through the 1930's.

The back kitchen, which was moved from the family farm when the house was built, retains the original interior (with daylight shining through the floorboards) including the walk-in fireplace. The kitchen also showcases the family's 19th century furniture.

The museum is fortunate to own a collection of Louis Orr's North Carolina etchings. The Friends are in the process of having these framed to be displayed in the Farmville Public Library. Individuals may choose the etching of the choice and have it framed Hogarthe style in honor or in memory of someone.

Address
Farmville Heritage Center
Farmville
NC
USA
Contact Info
Telephone: 
252-753-6725
Email: 
Contact form

More like May Museum